2018 Psychology B.S./B.A. Program

The Psychology B.S./B.A. degree program has been named the winner of the second annual Provost’s Assessment Award.

The Department of Psychology’s B.S./B.A. degree program uses a variety of assessment best practices such as triangulation (via multiple direct and indirect measures for each outcome), review of student artifacts by a committee of faculty members, and administration of student self-efficacy and opinion surveys. The psychology program collaboratively analyzes their data, creating meaningful action plans intended to improve student learning. The University Assessment Council cited these well-developed plans to enhance student learning as the number one reason they selected the report.

Established in 2017, the Provost’s Assessment Award recognizes excellence in academic program-level assessment and improvement of student learning. The award winner is selected each year by the University Assessment Council from a pool of degree program assessment reports that most strongly exhibit the award criteria: meaningful, measurable, manageable, and innovative. The other nominees for the 2018 award were the Chemical Engineering (B.S.) and Marketing (M.S.) programs.

According to one reviewer, “The combination of great measures AND evidence of making improvements based on past assessment results…shows [this program] is ‘closing the loop’.” Another reviewer stated, “It is clear that the Psychology evaluators are paying attention to whether interventions they make create positive change. I appreciated that they involve faculty as well as students in their analysis of the program.”

Department of Psychology faculty, including B.S./B.A. program Assessment Coordinator Dr. Beverly Roskos and Department Chair Dr. Frances A. Conners, were honored at a celebratory luncheon with the Office for Academic Affairs.

LR: Associate Provost Luoheng Han, Clinical Assistant Professor Craig Cummings, Associate Professor Beverly Roskos, Professor Ed Merrill, Department Chair and Professor Frances Conners, and Provost Kevin Whitaker